Magnolia Looks to 2020 With YA Fantasy

As we get deeper into 2019, Magnolia Press is already starting to plan out their 2020 publishing schedule. With this comes the acquisition of Kassandra Flamouri brilliant and terrifying Young Adult Fantasy, A Garden of Light and Shadow.

Sasha Chantry knew she was going to be a dancer, just like her grandmother. But when Baba Nadia dies, Sasha begins to have disturbing nightmares and visions about Kingsgarden, a land she’s sure exists only in her head. Unable to wake up from her nightmare, Sasha is stuck in a world where she’s magically enslaved and silenced. In order to escape and survive, Sasha must learn what separates reality and madness—if such a thing actually exists.

Tackling themes of love, obligation, and resilience, A Garden of Light and Shadow will appeal to fans of Kristin Cashore’s Graceling and Marisa Noelle’s The Shadow Keepers.

About the Author:
Kassandra Flamouri's storytelling career began at the age of three with "Squirm The Worm," which was warmly received by an audience of assorted beetles in rural New Jersey (yes, there is a rural New Jersey). She went on to study music composition and ethnomusicology at the Sunderman Conservatory of Music at Gettysburg College. Now, as an exam prep and college admissions tutor, she has time to devote to her first love, writing. Her work has appeared online and in print in such venues as Timeless Tales Magazine, Flash Fiction Magazine, and more. Kassandra currently resides in Pennsylvania with a very sweet and loving man, a sweet but excitable cattle dog, and an only intermittently sweet, mostly grumpy cat. 

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads