Magnolia Acquires Ashley Jean Granillo's Sophomore Novel

After getting attention with her debut novel, Love From the Barricade (Black Rose Writing, 2018), Ashley Jean Granillo has been on Magnolia’s radar for some time. Quick to favorite a pitch during October’s #DVPit event, Magnolia Press is thrilled to announce that they’ve acquired Granillo’s sophomore novel, The Dove That Stayed. The story follows a soon-to-be thirty-year-old Mexican-American woman who struggles to understand the nuances of Mexican heritage and her identity as a Mexican-American. An upmarket women’s fiction with some elements of magical realism, The Dove That Stayed will appeal to fans of Natalia Sylvester’s Everyone Knows You Go Home and Rachel Kohn’s Goodbye, Vitamin.

About Ashley:
Ashley Jean Granillo published her first book about a princess and a magical Christmas tree when she was five-years-old. Since then, her imagination has been unstoppable. Ashley Jean has her Master's and Bachelor's in Creative Writing from California State University Northridge. Her debut novel, Love from the Barricade, received first place in the category of Chick Lit from The Pencraft Awards 2018.

Outside of writing, Ashley Jean enjoys playing her Squire Bullet Stratocaster and working as a professor at College of the Canyons.

Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Website